Help keep our coastline clean! Participate in Coastal Cleanup in Rhode Island

[ 0 ] September 19, 2010 |

International Coastal Cleanup
September 25, 2010 9 a.m.-noon*

(*Some cleanups occur on a different date or time; check individual listings for details)

Each year, volunteers around the world show they care about their coasts by flocking to the beaches to clean up and document the trash they find. The Audubon Society of Rhode Island is proud to coordinate cleanup efforts for the Ocean State. If you would like to volunteer, please contact one of the local cleanup leaders listed below. For general questions, contact Audubon at 401-949-5454. This is a rain-or-shine event, but may be postponed in the event of a severe storm.

The recent tragedy of the oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico has brought into focus the impact that our actions have on the ocean,” said Audubon’s Executive Director Lawrence Taft. “The International Coastal Cleanup is a chance to show that we care and will do something about trash in our marine waters. In just a few hours last year, over 2000 volunteers removed more than 22,000 pounds of trash from the Rhode Island shore. The data we collect helps to document the problem and provides a way to take action and raise awareness.

Bring a pair of gloves and come prepared to make a difference!

Lost of Rhode Island locations:

Barrington
– Barrington Beach–West Side: Bill & Deb Dwyer at 245-2684 or wtd@cox.net. (NOTE: this cleanup will be held from 1:00 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.)

Block Island
– Town Beach: Kim Gaffett at 466-2224 or kimg@riconnect.com

Bristol
– Waypossett at the Narrows: Steve & Philip Johnson at 254-1963 or SEJET@WORLDNET.ATT.NET

Charlestown
– Quonochontaug: Mark Bullinger at 322-0610 or mbullinger@gmail.com
– Charlestown Town Beach: Jim McMonigle at 782-0312 or Mcmonscience@hotmail.com
– Charlestown Breachway: Wayne Huot at 788-0361 or waynehuot@yahoo.com

E. Providence
– Bold Point: Monica Allard Cox at 874-6937 or allard@gso.uri.edu. (NOTE: this cleanup will be from 10 a.m. to noon.)
– Sabin Point: Michaela Hurley at 289-2112 or laneandjen1@cox.net.

Jamestown
Debra Greenhalgh at 742-4898 or greenhalghdj@cox.net (underwater cleanup)

Little Compton
– Town Shoreline (various locations): Sandra Farr at 635-8640 or jsfarr@cox.net

Middletown
– Second Beach: Gary Paquette at coastal915@yahoo.com. Meet in the parking lot in front of the concession stand just as you enter the main entrance. (NOTE: This cleanup will take place on Sunday, September 26 from 8 am to noon)
– Third Beach: The Norman Bird Sanctuary at (401)846-2577

Narragansett
– Aunt Carrie’s Beach: Heather Biben at heatherbiben@hotmail.com
– Camp Cronin/Point Judith: Stephany Hessler at 272-3540 x 130 or shessler@savebay.org. (NOTE: This cleanup will be held from 1:30 -4 p.m.)
– South Ferry Road, URI Narragansett Bay: Pam Rubinoff at 480-8004 or rubi@crc.uri.edu
– Salty Brine/Sand Hill Cove: Rosalie Fairman at 789-6579

Newport
– First Beach: Dave McLaughlin at 401-465-0628 or dmclaughlin71@hotmail.com. (NOTE: this cleanup will be from 9 a.m. to 11 a.m.)
– Fort Adams (west shore): Red Godin at 413-6090 or info@giantstridediveshop.com
– King’s Beach: Tom Freeman at 848-7619 or Hotdealtom50@cox.net
– Rose Island: Reada Evans at 847-4242 or reada@roseisland.org

North Kingstown
– Compass Rose & Quonset Point Beaches: Laurie Johnson at 294-0299 or laurij@uri.edu Mount View/Calf
– Pasture Point: Janine Paiva at 855-5264 or janiner2@verizon.net (NOTE: This cleanup will be held from 1-4 p.m.)
– Rome Point: Mary Puglia at 401-539-7107 or marypuglia@yahoo.com
– Wickford Harbor: Tom Sgouros at 295-2095 or tomfool@as220.org

Portsmouth
– Bayview Ave. & Bristol Ferry Landing: Julie Norman at 617-529-4022 or jnormaninc@gmail.com
– Common Fence Point: Mil Kinsella at 633-2606 or sterlingmil@cox.net
– Pheasant Beach: Bob Gessler at 683-3860 or judybob.gessler@verizon.net

Providence
– Oxford St. & Allens Ave: Meredyth Waterman at 451-2322 or meredythw@aol.com. (NOTE: This cleanup will be held from 8-10 a.m. on Saturday, September 18)
– Woonasquatucket River (Riverside Park): Lisa Aurecchia at 861-9046 or lisa@woonasquatucket.org
– Fields Point, Save The Bay Headquarters: Stephany Hessler at 272-3540 x 130 or shessler@savebay.org. (NOTE: This cleanup will be held from 1:30 -4 pm)

Prudence Island
Colleen McCue at Colleen@nbnerr.org or 683-1893 (NOTE: This cleanup will be held on Saturday, September 18th, 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. Volunteers coming over on the ferry will leave Bristol at 10 am and return at 4:30 pm. Pre-registration is required for this cleanup!)

South Kingstown
– Moonstone Beach (west): Tina Marasco at marascals@cox.net
– Town Beach: Ray Nickerson at 789-9331 x245 or rnickerson@southkingstownri.com
– E. Matunuck State Beach: Leigh Stedman at 782-1612 or jri3841u@gmail.com

Tiverton
– Grinnell’s Beach/Fogland Point: Diane Sunderland at 624-8207

Warwick
– Apponaug Cove: Jennifer Pelopida at 527-4649 or pelopidaj@yahoo.com (NOTE: this cleanup will be held from noon to 3 pm)
– Conimicut Point: Marcia Peña at 921-3267 or marcia42451@aol.com
– Goddard Park: Ellen Forman at 334-2568 or mforman2@cox.net
– Oakland Beach: Sandra Davidson at 965-8752 or sandra16@att.net
– Warwick City Park: William Quirk at 952-8967 or billjwq@verizon.net

Westerly
– Misquamicut Beach (east side) & Weekapaug Breachway: Mark Burbelo at 322-7134 or mburbelo@gza.com
– Watch Hill to Misquamicut; Weekapaug to Quonochontaug breachway (plus sites in Charlestown): Steve Cersosimo at granitephoto@cox.net

The International Coastal Cleanup is a project of The Ocean Conservancy. The Rhode Island cleanup is organized by Audubon Society of Rhode Island and sponsored by Dunkin’ Donuts, UNFI, and Washington Trust.

Tags:

Category: environment, Nature | Audubon's Environmental Education Center


Audubon Society of Rhode Island

about the author ()

Senior Director of Education Audubon Environmental Education Center

Leave a Reply

Kidoinfo Kidoinfo