International Coastal Cleanup: Rhode Island Style

[ 0 ] September 17, 2009 |

September 19, 2009 from 9 AM – Noon

Each year on the third Saturday in September, volunteers around the world show they care about their coasts by flocking to the beaches to clean up and document the trash they find. The Audubon Society of Rhode Island coordinates cleanup efforts for the Ocean State. The “Hold the Line!” theme for this year encourages anglers to properly dispose of used and snarled fishing line which can entangle wildlife.hold-the-line

Trash in the marine environment is unsightly, and it’s a threat to wildlife,” said Audubon’s Executive Director Lawrence Taft. “The International Coastal Cleanup gives Rhode Islanders a way to take action and raise awareness of this important issue in our state. The data we collect helps document the problem and provides background for policy decisions on issues such as beach smoking, recycling, and fisheries and wildlife management.”

If you would like to volunteer, please contact one of the local cleanup leaders listed below. For general questions, contact Audubon at 401-949-5454. This is a rain-or-shine event, but may be postponed in the event of a severe storm. Bring a pair of gloves and come prepared to make a difference!

LOCATIONS:

Barrington
Barrington Beach-West Side: Bill & Deb Dwyer at 245-2684 or wtd@cox.net. (NOTE: this cleanup will be held from 1 p.m. to 4 p.m.)

Block Island
Town Beach: Kim Gaffett at 466-2224 or kimg@riconnect.com

Bristol
Waypossett at the Narrows: Steve & Philip Johnson at 254-1963 or SEJET@WORLDNET.ATT.NET
Pebble Beach/Ferry Rd: K.C. Ferrara at 254-3765 or kferrara@rwu.edu
Mount Hope Farm: Dawn Euer at 612-269-9279 or dawn.euer@gmail.com

Charlestown
Quonochontaug: Mark Bullinger at 322-0610 or mbullinger@gmail.com
Charlestown Town Beach: Martha Montanaro at 364-9650 or martygraz@cox.net
Charlestown Breachway: Wayne Huot at 788-0361 or waynehuot@yahoo.com
Ninigret Conservation Area: Doug & Deserie Waryck at 932-6558 or dwaryck2@yahoo.com

E. Providence
Bold Point: Monica Allard Cox at 874-6937 or allard@gso.uri.edu
Sabin Point: Rick Goff at 434-7948 or rickgoff@cox.net

Jamestown
Fort Wetherill: Jack Yando at 787-4929 (onshore cleanup) and Debra Greenhalgh at 742-4898 or greenhalghdj@cox.net (underwater cleanup)

Little Compton
Town Shoreline (various locations): Sandra Farr at 635-8640 or jsfarr@cox.net

Middletown
Second Beach: Gary Paquette at coastal915@yahoo.com
Third Beach: Catherine Arning at (401)846-2577 x15 or carning@normanbirdsanctuary.org

Narragansett
Aunt Carrie’s Beach: Heather Curzio at Heather_Curzio@hotmail.com
Narragansett Town Beach: Dave Owens at 294-6814
South Ferry Road, URI Narragansett Bay: Pam Rubinoff at 480-8004 or rubi@crc.uri.edu (NOTE: this cleanup will be from 10a.m.-noon.)
Salty Brine/Sand Hill Cove: Rosalie Fairman at 789-6579

Newport
First Beach: Dave McLaughlin at 401-465-0628 or dmclaughlin71@hotmail.com. (NOTE: this cleanup will be from 9 a.m. to 11 a.m.)
Fort Adams (west shore): Red Godin at 413-6090 or info@giantstridediveshop.com
King’s Beach: Tom Freeman at 848-7619 or Hotdealtom50@cox.net
Rose Island: Reada Evans at 847-4242 or reada@roseisland.org

North Kingstown
Compass Rose & Quonset Point Beaches: Laurie Johnson at 294-0299 or laurij@uri.edu
Mount View: Janine & John Paiva at 885-5264 or skatingwinter@hotmail.com
Wickford Harbor: Tom Sgouros at 295-2095 or tomfool@as220.org

Portsmouth
Common Fence Point: Mil Kinsella at 633-2606 or sterlingmil@cox.net
McCorrie Point: Dan Reilly at 643-1770 or dancogroup@msn.com
Pheasant Beach: Bob Gessler at 683-3860 or judybob.gessler@verizon.net

Providence
Oxford St. & Allens Ave: Meredyth Waterman at 451-2322 or meredythw@aol.com
Woonasquatucket River (Riverside Park): Lisa Aurecchia at 861-9046 or lisa@woonasquatucket.org

Prudence Island
Kristen Van Wagner at 683-1478 or kristin@nbnerr.org NOTE: This cleanup will be held on September 26th, 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. Volunteers coming over on the ferry will leave Bristol at 10 am and return at 4:30 pm. Pre-registration is important for this cleanup!

South Kingstown
Moonstone Beach (west): Tina Marasco at 783-2404 or marascals@cox.net
Town Beach: Ray Nickerson at 789-9331 x245 or rnickerson@southkingstownri.com
E. Matunuck State Beach: Leigh Stedman at 782-1612 or jri3841u@gmail.com

Tiverton
Grinnell’s Beach/Fogland Point: Diane Sunderland at 624-8207

Warwick
Apponaug Cove: Jennifer Pelopida at 527-4649 or pelopidaj@yahoo.com
Conimicut Point: Marcia Peña at 921-3267 or marcia42451@aol.com
George B. Salter Grove: REI Customer Service at 275-5250 or mbender@rei.com
Goddard Park: Ellen Forman at 334-2568 or mforman2@cox.net. NOTE: this cleanup will be held on September 26th.
Longmeadow: Joanna Toole at 739-0197 or toolejoanna@yahoo.com
Oakland Beach: Sandra Davidson at 965-8752 or sandra16@att.net
Warwick City Park: William Quirk at billjwq@verizon.net

Westerly
Misquamicut Beach (east side)& Weekapaug Breachway: Mark Burbelo at 322-7134 or mburbelo@gza.com
Watch Hill to Misquamicut; Weekapaug to Quonochontaug breachway (plus sites in Charlestown): Steve Cersosimo at granitephoto@cox.net


The International Coastal Cleanup is a project of The Ocean Conservancy. The Rhode Island cleanup is organized by Audubon Society of Rhode Island and sponsored by ABC6, Dunkin’ Donuts, Fidelity Investments, Lowes, National Grid, RI Mobile Sportsfishermen, and Washington Trust.

Category: community, environment, nature/science


Anisa Raoof

about the author ()

Anisa Raoof is the publisher of Kidoinfo.com. She combines being a mom with her experience as an artist, designer, psych researcher and former co-director of the Providence Craft Show to create the go-to spot for families in Rhode Island and beyond. She loves using social media to connect parents with family-related businesses and services and promoting ways for parents to engage offline with their kids. Anisa believes in the power of working together and loves to find ways to collaborate with others. An online enthusiast, still likes to unplug often by reading books and magazines, drawing, learning to knit, making pop-up books with her two sons and listening to records with her husband.

Leave a Reply