• Search

Meet Kate Macinanti

I look forward to seeing/meeting many of you at the upcoming KidoConversation, Raising Kids in a Digital World” on Tuesday, May 25, at Local 121. KidoConversations provide us the opportunity to come together around a certain topic – meet in real life, talk about it and think about how it impacts our lives as parents. Bring your questions, and playdate or business cards. We’ll provide some food, name tags, and the chance to hang without your kids. Not signed up yet? Click here.

In anticipation of the upcoming “Raising Kids in a Digital World” event, I invite you to get know some of our panelists better through Meet the Parent interviews. Today, meet Kate Macinanti.

Kate and Family Kidoinfo: What neighborhood do you live in?
Kate Macinanti (KM): It’s called Kingston Woods. It’s a fairly new neighborhood in South Kingstown, down near URI.

Kidoinfo: Where were you born?
KM: I was born @ Kent County Hospital in Warwick @ Midnight on the dot during a blizzard.

Kidoinfo: How long have you been in Rhode Island?
KM: With the exception of 4 years when I was @ college in Massachusetts, I have lived in RI my whole life.

Kidoinfo: What is your current state of mind?
KM: Foggy…my allergies are out of control this season.

Kidoinfo: Who’s in your family?
KM: My immediate family consists of myself, my husband Brian, our 15 year old daughter Orianna, our 7 year old daughter Jessica and our 5 year old son Joseph. However, we have a myriad of “friends who are Family” known as our Extended Framily that we always include.

Kidoinfo: What trait do you most admire about your family?
KM: We are all determined individuals who, when we know what we want, we do what we need in order to get it (within reason of course).

Kidoinfo: What is your favorite thing to do?
KM: All five of us are martial art students at our local dojo. My favorite thing to do, is train, as a family…on the mat…all at the same time.

Kidoinfo: Where is your favorite place to hang out?
KM: Gabrieles Martial Arts dojo in the South County Commons. We are there 2-4 hours a day, 6 days a week. It is the “home” of our Extended Framily.

Kidoinfo: Where would you most like to live?
KM: My “dream” is to have two residences. One will be  in Killington, VT and the other will be determined by where my kids reside. My husband and I will then share our time together between the two…depending on the weather of course.

Kidoinfo: What do you like to do when you are not with your kids?
KM: If I have a good book on hand, I love to read when the kids are not around. If I’m between books, I spend a lot of time online networking and researching whatever pops in my head.

Kidoinfo: What is the most overrated thing about parenthood?
KM: Honestly, I can’t think of anything “overrated”…but I can think of oodles of things that are “underrated”.

Kidoinfo: What is your most treasured possession?
KM: Nothing tangible. All my treasured possessions are personality traits, gifts and abilities.

Kidoinfo: What superpower would you most like to have?
KM: The power to Teleport to any destination.

Kidoinfo: Who is your favorite fictional mother or father?
KM: There are simply too many to mention for so many different reasons. I will say that I prefer the characters who are not portrayed as “dim-witted”…that’s pretty annoying.

Kidoinfo: What are you going to do now that you have answered these questions?
KM: Log on to work to check some emails before I head off to the dojo with my husband and son to get a great Muay Thai workout under our belts.

Read more in our Meet a Parent series.

Leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.